Friday, May 13, 2016

March: Book One & Two - John Lewis

March: Book One &  March: Book Two - John Lewis

Graphic novels tell the story of Congressmen John Lewis and his role in the Civil Rights Movement.

Book One shows John's childhood in Alabama, his first years in college, his meeting with Martin Luther King Jr.,  his role in the Nashville Student Movement, and their nonviolent lunch counter sit-ins that ended on the steps of City Hall.

Book Two continues the story with the Freedom Riders and their bus trips into southern cities. John Lewis' election to chairman of the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee and becoming one of the "Big Six" leaders in the civil rights movement.

Book Three: Scheduled to be released August 2, 2016

Recommended Level: Upper Middle School & High School

No comments:

Post a Comment